Capriccio (Richard Strauss) – dossier


“A Conversation Piece for Music” in 1 act

Composer: Richard Strauss

Libretto: Clemens Krauss and Richard Strauss

First performed: Nationaltheater München, Munich, Germany, 28 October 1942, conducted by Clemens Krauss

My review


  • DIE GRÄFIN (The Countess) (soprano): Viorica Ursuleac
  • DER GRAF (The Count), her brother (baritone): Walter Höfermeyer
  • FLAMAND, a musician (tenor): Horst Taubmann
  • OLIVIER, a poet (baritone): Hans Hotter
  • LA ROCHE, theatre director (bass): Georg Hann
  • The actress CLAIRON (contralto): Hildegard Ranczak
  • MONSIEUR TAUPE (tenor): Karl Seydel
  • An Italian singer (soprano): Irma Beilke
  • An Italian tenor (tenor): Franz Klarwein
  • A young dancer
  • DER HAUSHOFMEISTER (The Major-Domo) (bass): Georg Wieter
  • Eight SERVANTS (four tenors, four basses)


A castle near Paris, in the time when Gluck began reforming opera, sometime around 1775